41 Million Pixels and Counting

If someone told me last week that I could buy a reasonably priced camera which could capture Forty One Million Pixels (41 MP) I’d have contemplated that person’s definition of “reasonably priced”.

If that same person told me that I could buy a smart phone which could capture Forty One Million Pixels with its onboard camera, I’d have contemplated whether this person was insane.

Fortunately noone told me these things, fortunately I didn’t have to question the sanity of my friends, because it was the surprise of stumbling onto Nokia’s latest invention that made me start to question my own eyes.

I give you the Nokia 808 PureView

It has a revolutionary camera inside a rather ordinary phone, but some people are absolutely going to love it. At least until the competition picks up their photographic game.

I still question the need for such high resolutions. Firstly each picture’s file size is going to be 5 times larger than the 8 MP camera in most new phones, and transferring these pictures is going to be a lot longer. Can you imagine emailing one of them? You certainly aren’t going to be posting the full resolution image to Facebook, nor are you going to be sending on in an MMS.

The pictures will need to be compressed first and, quite frankly this is a little time-consuming for mobile CPU’s.

I guess there are a lot of pro’s and con’s to such a device, but ultimately, beauty is in the eye of the phone holder.

What do you think? Would you buy one? I’ll be sticking to my 8 MP Camera Phone for now, but I wonder if this will really hit the right mark with some photographers.

Leave a comment